top of page
Search

Day 53: Exercise and Honesty.


Another short post today because half term is almost over and I have some catching up to do in terms of marking and planning and, plus, I am going out today.


I have been doing a lot of steps over the last 53 days and, because if this, I've been patting myself on the back a lot. Wow, look at me, I've done 85,000 steps this week; woah, I've done 96,000 steps this weeks aren't I great! Maybe that should be a question mark at the end, because, if I am honest, no...no it's not great.


Even with the number of steps I've done I'm still fooling myself that I am exercising. I'm not. Exercising means raising your heart rate to a specific level for a certain amount of time. And whilst I do this in the morning or when I take the dog for a walk, the majority of my steps are languid, just a normal walking pace.


My weigh in this morning was 13 stone 2lbs, which is great. But the only real reason I did that, I believe, is because I've really controlled my calorie intake this week. I've kept up the steps, but not raised my heart rate, and this is something I am going to have to change.


I keep saying I am going to do the C25K, but always find an excuse not to. Sometimes I can make myself believe that I have too much work to do, or it's too late in the evening, or or or...or it's simply because I cant be bothered. The latter is true, in case you missed it. Even with a David Goggins mentality, I'm convincing myself that other things I'm doing are callousing my mind, I never look to running or raising my heart rate as the uncomfortable thing im going to do as that would mean that I would actually have to do something I would find uncomfortable, something that would take me away from my normal, comfortable step count.


So why am I telling myself this? Is there any point? Of course there is, I'm telling me and telling you so that I now have no excuses. If I tell myself it's too late in the evening or I have no time, I can come back to this and remind myself that, if I have time to write this, to play on a game on my phone, to sit in bed and relax, I have time to do the C25K. I have to raise my heart rate to help my healthy lifestyle and weight loss. I have to run to help be honest and do the David Goggins I preach to others. I have to run to show myself that I'm committed to this, that I'm driven. I have to actually exercise, rather than pretend I am.


And that's what I'm going to do.


Thanks for reading.


Stay strong. Stay honest.


Sean.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page