top of page
Search

Day 148: Another Day.


Today has been a tale of three parts. The three parts are not split equally, nor are they of equal weight, but it is split.


Firstly was the morning. Yesterday I had a day of lethargy and not really feeling it. This was followed by this morning...a complete opposite of the day before. Although I did not feel like getting up this morning, or exercising, I did get up and I did exercise and I felt a lot better for it. I think that the best part was the shower afterwards and also knowing that I am now going to give my body a break for the next two days. I was awake, energised and full of vigour; I was back to my normal self.


I then went in to school to look after key worker children and was also in high spirits and full of energy. The kids enjoyed the things I set up for them, I managed to get some work done whilst the children were doing the work I had set (well, it wasn't really work) and I also managed to read some blogs on retrieval practice and on team building through Microsoft Teams. Then I made my way home about 3.


Part two. This involved arriving home at the exact same time as my wife and deciding that we wanted to sit out in the garden and read for a bit. Whilst we sat there, the sun blazing, my eyelids started to drift and my energy levels suddenly dipped to stupidly low levels. I figured it was the sun so I made my way indoors and sat and read inside instead.


However, rather than making me feel better, I continued to drop my eyelids and at one point even dropped my book on to the floor as I read. Nothing I could do could stop myself from falling asleep. Even making dinner the feeling of exhaustion and tiredness was sweeping over me like a wave of nausea and all I wanted to do was lie down and go to sleep. But dinner was made and so I ate my jacket potato with salad and mackerel. After that, I perked up again.


Part three: the now. So since then I have been back to being energised and I have almost taken for granted that my lack of energy started with the sun but was embellished by a lack of sleep and calories and also a lot of exercising throughout the week. Perhaps my body was simply telling me to stop; to chill out for a bit and give it a rest. Who knows?


What I do know is that I am going to listen to my body now and go and relax for the rest of the evening and then I am going to look forward to a nice lie in tomorrow until 8am, rather than my normal 5.30am. This will be followed by breakfast and then. lovely 6 mile walk to get myself ready for lunch and eventual dinner. I am going to have a couple of beers and I am also going to have an ice cream and maybe a packet of crisps tomorrow also. My body deserves a rest and so do I. Nothing massively overboard, just intaking a few more calories than normal.


Additionally it is weigh in day tomorrow. I am both looking forward to and dreading this event. I have already written about this so won't bore you any more about it. But I will see whether my midweek binge has had any affect on my week. I hope not but I am prepared for it if it has.


I hope that those of you who are weighing in tomorrow have a good day and that I will join you in that celebration.


Until tomorrow, stay safe and stay strong.


Thanks for reading.


Sean.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page